Universal Principles
From: UK

The globally renowned universal principles are faith, hope and charity. The Soma renowned Universal Principles are Stuart McMillan, Glenn Gibbons and Nick Peacock. Together they have crafted the shimmering debut album "Inspiration & Light".

The three Glasgow godfathers of groove have spent the last year in their sound laboratory of soul, squeezing out funky rhythms and blasting the bass. The album has received critical acclaim with Roger Sanchez has already checking in for remix duties, Jazzanova insisted we burnt them a CD and DJ Sneak has described the finished product as, "the best album since 'Smokers Delight'".

Universal Principles are three long-time friends. With their diverse backgrounds and musical history, Glenn is Principles' own little black key manipulator, Stuart adds a cutting edge and DJ Nick Peacock, the grandaddy of grooves, unites the band with his unique jazz step. He's also got a fairly decent record collection. Together they form a kooky collective born out of extremist behaviour, bonkers banter and an unfulfilled drive for self-destruction. It's a combination that inexplicably generates slabs of solar powered soul.

Soma records are the obvious connection. It's the family tree for three disparate triplets separated at birth. As well as releasing material under a variety of pseudonyms, Stuart (Slam, Pressure Funk, Counterplan) and Glenn (Rejuvination, Equus) are two of the labels founding members and Nick recorded as Eastmen on Soma in 1994.

The other connecting thread is Glasgow's vibrant clubs. Picture the scene. 1985, The Sub Club. Nick Peacock, the resident DJ is playing everything from disco and jazz to reggae punks The Clash. Stuart McMillan is a regular and is turned on to real black music. "Nick was playing the same records as The Paradise Garage's Larry Levan," he remembers, "well that's what he says anyway!"

His Sub Club residency and passion for the music inspired a generation of Glasgow producers and DJs. Arguably; Nick Peacock was the catalyst in the development of the house and techno scene in Scotland's biggest city. Not content with just this, he's also a champion slalom skier and currently a lecturer in photography at Clydebank College.

Universal Principles was born at a post Slam At The Arches after show party, when the troublesome trio rose to Derrick Carter's challenge to do something in the studio together. Several months later Soma released the debut single "Inspirational and Light", which received critical acclaim from DJs including Roger Sanchez, Ashley Beedle and Giles Peterson.

Since their debut in July 1998 they have been stirring their varied influences into a musical melting pot creating an accomplished atmospheric album of maturity and sophistication. They each bring their own special ingredients to the recipe from funk, jazz, hip-hop, house and techno. But no matter what the reference points are, they have sculpted their own sound - an aural feast.

Universal Principles' debut album begins with a deeper version of "Inspiration & Light" which prepares and acquaints us with a luscious pilgrimage of organic funk and soul. The sparkling "Latin Stroll" and the sensual ambience of "Voodoo Sun" perpetuate the resonance that the album generates. Whereas, the dirty house rhythms of "Flyin High" emphasise the rawness of the music and is deservedly the next single release taken from the album with a very special remix from Roger Sanchez.

The live element is also paramount on "Inspiration and Light". Stuart displays his skills on guitar, keys and zither while Glenn plays bass, keys and percussion. As well as this Universal Principles have drafted in some talented young musicians currently making an impact in Glasgow's thriving live jazz scene. The boys may have risen to a drunken challenge but the future holds no bounds as they are already working on their own unique live show.

Let Universal Principles provide inspiration and light to your summer soundtrack.

DJ Selecta
Artist Name
By Country

Lele Sacchi
Matt Tolfrey
Lee Curtiss
Mihalis Safras
Jaden Thompson
G Flame
Vinyl Speed Adjust
Nick Curly
Latest Release
  • Fading Lights EP by Savas Pascalidis
    Savas Pascalidis
    Fading Lights EP
    Be As One

  • Break New Sol EP  by Wareika
    Break New Sol EP

  • Near and Nearer EP by Michal Ho
    Michal Ho
    Near and Nearer EP
    Contexterrior / Tuning Spork

  • Castaway EP by Anonym
    Castaway EP
    Bass Culture Records

  • Blue Mondays by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Blue Mondays
    Blue Mondays

  • The Last Climb EP by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    The Last Climb EP
    MBR Limited

  • Stupid Advert EP by Gary Beck
    Gary Beck
    Stupid Advert EP
    BEK Audio

  • The Final Revolution EP by DJ Spider
    DJ Spider
    The Final Revolution EP

  • Mis Hermanos Rumanos Part 1 EP  by Sepp & Alex Font
    Sepp & Alex Font
    Mis Hermanos Rumanos Part 1 EP

  • Quiet Distortion (The Remixes) EP by Gregor Tresher
    Gregor Tresher
    Quiet Distortion (The Remixes) EP
    Break New Soil

  • Mnemosyne EP by Par Grindvik
    Par Grindvik
    Mnemosyne EP
    Stockholm LTD

  • Dark Manoeuvres Soma 25 Remixes EP by Envoy
    Dark Manoeuvres Soma 25 Remixes EP
    Soma Records

  • Bassick EP by Detlef & Green Velvet
    Detlef & Green Velvet
    Bassick EP

  • 4 For The Floor EP by Demarzo
    4 For The Floor EP

  • Rising/Falling by Daze Maxim
    Daze Maxim
    Hello? Repeat

  • Scissor And Thread Best Of 2016 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Scissor And Thread Best Of 2016
    Scissor & Thread

  • Intakt EP by Marc Miroir
    Marc Miroir
    Intakt EP
    Paso Music

  • Part 3 - 10 Years Of Akbal Music by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Part 3 - 10 Years Of Akbal Music
    Akbal Music

  • Revelation EP by Supernova
    Revelation EP
    Lapsus Music

  • A Lonely Space Program  by Lady Blacktronika
    Lady Blacktronika
    A Lonely Space Program

  • The New Years Special Vol. 2 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    The New Years Special Vol. 2

  • Legalise EP by Horatio & Thule
    Horatio & Thule
    Legalise EP
    New Violence Records

  • Stay Positive EP by Squire
    Stay Positive EP
    Bar25 Music

  • Karat 57 EP by Akufen
    Karat 57 EP

  • Aurora EP by Trinity Tales
    Trinity Tales
    Aurora EP
    Hive Audio

  • The Velcoro Remixes EP by Nils Penner
    Nils Penner
    The Velcoro Remixes EP
    Musica Autonomica

  • Mami Wata EP by Hyenah
    Mami Wata EP

  • OFUNSOUNDMIND029 EP by Mark Jenkyns
    Mark Jenkyns
    Of Unsound Mind

  • LFO I Love You EP by Andrea Di Rocco & Claude Vonstroke
    Andrea Di Rocco & Claude Vonstroke
    LFO I Love You EP
    D Floor

  • Unsullied EP by Ramiro Lopez
    Ramiro Lopez
    Unsullied EP

  • Live From The Other Side  by Seven Davis Jr.
    Seven Davis Jr.
    Live From The Other Side
    Secret Angels

  • Moodmusic Best of 2016 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Moodmusic Best of 2016

  • Anxiety by Alixander Raczkowski
    Alixander Raczkowski
    Login Records

  • Rebirth Sessions - Shield by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Rebirth Sessions - Shield

  • Affin Selected 2016 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Affin Selected 2016

  • Hafendisko Best of 2016 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Hafendisko Best of 2016

  • Get Physical Music Presents: The Best of Get Physical 2016 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    Get Physical Music Presents: The Best of Get Physical 2016
    Get Physical Music

  • This Is Toolroom 2017 by Various Artists
    Various Artists
    This Is Toolroom 2017