Top 10 Drum and Bass Chart :: July

Words by: Dannii Lilac
Posted: 2/8/18 10:30

Tokyo Prose second LP 'Wild Grace' is a truly stunning piece of music

Bit of a running theme this month as liquid dnb dominates the chart, but as it’s mid-summer it’s only right. Dispatch, Critical, Metalheadz and the debut release for In-Reach Records shake things up though with some gully anthems.


1. Calibre – Shelflife 5 on Signature

This was released at the end of last month just after this chart went out but definitely needs a mention. Calibre’s 5th edition of his much loved shelflife series sees him dig deep once again into his extensive back catalogue. ‘Funny Games’ And ‘Jass’ are two stand out tracks on the LP, also not forgetting the infectious ‘City Life’ with DRS and ‘Bluesday’ featuring the late, great Marcus Intalex. Of course, it’s another seminal album from the music man.


2. Tokyo Prose – Wild Grace on The North Quarter

It’s been almost 4 years to the day since the New Zealander released his debut LP 'Presence' on Samurai and it was nothing like you’d heard before. Fast forward to 2018 and he is back with another sublime LP this time on Lenzman’s The North Quarter imprint. It’s almost impossible to select a favourite but the haunting vocals of Cleveland Watkiss on ‘Cold Hearts’ really makes your hairs stand on end, really powerful stuff!


3. Foreign Concept – Gozen EP on Critical Music

It’s been a hot minute since Foreign Concept’s last release, so it is with great excitement that he is back with 'Gozen' on Critical. There are many compelling tracks on the 5 track EP ‘Kilmersdon’ is an instant dancefloor banger, with gritty bass that rattles through the dance. The rest of the EP follows suit and also features collab 'Ron Millonario' with 1985 badman Monty.


4. Edlan – Ravine EP on Fokuz Recordings

Fokuz have done it again, this time Edlan is back with his 5th release on the label, once again showcasing Fokuz Recordings impeccable consistency. The tile track ‘Ravine’ is effortlessly striking and blissful. Whilst the lead track ‘Shadow VIP’ featuring the evocative vocals of Emily Perez is everything that dreamy liquid dnb should be.


5. Seba & Manos – Etherall / Always on Paradox

I could gush about Robert Manos all day, his smooth dreamy vocals are aptly described in the title. 'Etherall' again is another poignant release from him and Seba who have been releasing music together on Paradox since 2005. The juxtaposing sounds of ‘Always’ with Manos soft vocals and dreamy atmospheres alongside hard hitting drums is another example of why this collab is always so captivating.


6. Naibu – Achille / Red Hand on Horizons Music

French producer Naibu is synonymous with creating transcendent and uplifting dnb which intricately push the boundaries of style and tempo. Once again he delivers with ‘Achille / Red Hand’ which are taken from his forthcoming second LP for Horizons ‘Manoeuvres’, which is due in September 2018.


7. Wreckless – Ghost Ship EP on Dispatch Recordings

Wreckless presents his first solo release for Dispatch with 'Ghost Ship' and it is a high-octane journey that perfectly embodies the Dispatch sound. ‘1AM’ is a standout alongside Sweetpea, it’s techy but with a dash of funk that give it ultimate dancefloor presence.


8. Gremlinz & Jesta – Empty Promise EP on Metalheadz

'Empty Promise 'is the debut EP from Gremlinz & Jesta. ‘Departed’ faultlessly encapsulates the Metalheadz sound. Whilst ‘The Drift’ featuring Rumbleton is a less moody affair but by no means less authoritative. The title track rounds off nicely with classic punchy breaks with bang up to date atmospherics, a great first effort from the Canadian duo.


9. Acid Lab – 001 on In-Reach Records

A label debut now and after their hugely successful launch party at The Nest the other week, we are keeping on a moody tip with Acid Lab’s release. ‘Replicant’ is dark and mysterious with swift breaks which switch up to keep you hooked from start to finish. ‘Our Meditation’ goes fully jungle vibes whilst ‘Relics’ slows things down again to round things off, a very eclectic range and a wicked first release for In-Reach.


10. Pola & Bryson – 24/7 on Shogun Audio

Pola & Bryson have released the first single from their debut album ‘Lost In Thought’ forthcoming on Shogun Audio. '24/7' is blossoming in sophisticated pads and entrancing vocals, which is why this young duo continue to delight with every release, so no doubt the album will be an exciting journey into their remarkable sound.


Click here to check out our essential dnb parties for this week


Lauren Lo Sung
Erick Morillo
Valentino Kanzyani