Unsound Festival New York - 04th -14th February

Words by: I Voice
Posted: 18/1/10 10:43

Unsound Festival New York - 04th -14th February Poland's adventerous and highly successful music festival Unsound lands on American shores as Unsound Festival New York.

Beginning February 14th, the festival will span 10 days and boasts one of the more ambitious line-ups to collect on US soil in quite some time with electronic, experimental, indie, and techno all well-represented.

One of the cornerstones of the festival is Eastern Promises, which hopes to expose American audiences to a wide spectrum of producers from east of Berlin. Diverse artist ranging from techno producer Marcin Czubala to minimalist composer Jacaszek ensure eclectic billings throughout the festival.

There will also be special series of events dedicated to Andy Warhol including Carl Craig and nsi performing live electronic soundtracks to vintage Warhol films. Unsound Festival New York also marks the US debuts of nsi, the Moritz Von Oswald Trio, and Vladislav Delay.

Other highlights of this broad reaching festival include a special program of music by Polish experimental composer Henryk Gorecki, classical interpretations of seminal US punk/indie label SST, and a special Bass Mutations show dedicated to dubstep and beyond.

The festival will also include many panels on a variety of music related subjects - from gear to theory. Guest speakers include electronic music pioneer Morton Subotnick and legendary disco writer Vince Aletti.

Acts confirmed to appear at Unsound Festival New York include:

2562 (Netherlands),
Pavel Ambiont (Belarus),
Vince Aletti (USA),
Borne (USA), Blondes (USA),
Kabir Carter (USA),
Eric Cloutier (USA),
Carl Craig (USA),
Marcin Czubala (Poland),
David Daniell (USA),
Vladislav Delay (Finland),
Ensemble LPR (USA), Falty DL (USA),
Groupshow (Jan Jelinek, Andrew Pekler, Hanno Leichtmann) (Germany),
Tim Hecker (Canada),
Luke Hess (USA),
Ezekiel Honig (USA),
Mike Huckaby (USA),
Petre Inspirescu (Romania),
Jacaszek (Poland),
Jan Jelinek (Germany),
Kadebostan (Germany),
Alexander Kaline (USA),
Konque (USA),
Kwartludium (Poland),
Legowelt (Netherlands),
Hanno Leichtmann (Germany),
Alan Licht (USA),
Lillevan (Germany),
Sebastian Meissner (Germany),
Moritz Von Oswald Trio (Germany),
Mountains (USA),
Nadja (Canada),
Neurotic Drum Band (USA),
Newworldaquarium (Netherlands),
nsi (Germany),
Joshua Ott (USA),
Andrew Pekler (Germany),
Tristian Perich (USA),
Derek Plaslaiko (USA),
Pole (Germany),
Barbara Preisinger (Germany),
Dave Q (USA),
DJ Qu (USA),
Radian (Austria),
Lee Renaldo (USA),
Simon Reynolds (USA),
Patrick Russell (USA),
Sawako (USA / Japan),
Anthony "Shake" Shakir (USA),
Sepalcure (USA),
Michael J. Schumacher (USA),
Jacek Sienkiewicz (Poland),
Spinoza (USA),
Asa Stjerna (Sweden),
Morton Subotnick (USA),
Tape (Sweden),
Tobias. (Germany),
TRG (Romania),
Untold (UK),
Levon Vincent (USA),
Xavier Van Wersch (Netherlands),
Bora Yoon (USA),
Zavoloka (Ukraine)
Zenial (Poland)
Unsound Festival New York - 04th -14th February

In Cooperation With:
Trust for Mutual Understanding, Krakow Festival Office, the Romanian Cultural Institute New York, Austrian Cultural Forum New York, Consulate General of Finland New York, Pro Helvetia, Fonds Pop Over Zee, Netherlands Consulate-General New York, Anticipate, Backspin Promotions, Beyond Booking, the Bunker, Devotion Gallery, Electronic Music Foundation, ISSUE Project Room, Treehouse, Wordless Music, Today’s Art, Communikey, International Cities of Advanced Sound



Lauren Lo Sung
Erick Morillo
Valentino Kanzyani