Maceo Plex reveals new album 'Solar'

Words by: J Gamp
Posted: 26/4/17 10:28

Maceo Plex has announced the release of a new album, 'Solar', on the 16 June 2017.

The US-born producer and DJ is returning to the album fold through Lone Romantic, a brand new imprint which the producer set up to champion experimental strains of dance music, with a focus on releasing full-length albums.

Plex - also known as Eric Estornel - prepped the new LP back in 2015 with a two- track Solar Sampler before returning in 2016 with a 7 track EP, 'Journey to Solar'.

The new album reportedly focuses on Estornel's relationship with his son, Solar, and explores electronica, techno, breakbeats, dub and much more. In the words of Plex himself: “...the ups and downs in the first few years and its effects on life, marriage and more”. 

Meanwhile, Estornel has also been running his Ellum Audio imprint as well as confirming a new Mosaic residency at Pacha Ibiza this summer.

'Solar' is released through Lone Romantic on 16 June 2017.

01. Sparks of Life
02. Polygon Pulse
03. Indigo
04. The Separation
05. Eternal 808
06. Kepler’s Journey
07. Solar Wind
08. Wash Away My Tears
09. The Tesseract
10. Lucid Dreamer
11. Swan Dive


Roberto Capuano
Politics Of Dancing
Ralph Lawson